You are currently viewing Exploring Uttarakhand District Name: A Comprehensive Guide to the 13 Districts
Uttarakhand Map

Exploring Uttarakhand District Name: A Comprehensive Guide to the 13 Districts

This article will provide you with an overview of Uttarakhand district names and a brief introduction to the state. Uttarakhand, one of the northern states of India, has a total area of 53,483 square kilometres. The state has a population of 101.17 lakh individuals and is divided into 13 districts. The capital of Uttarakhand is Dehradun, serving as a temporary capital. The state has a literacy rate of 79.63%, indicating the availability of quality human resources. Uttarakhand is situated between latitudes 28°43′ N to 31°27′ N, giving it a unique geographic location. Before delving into the 13 districts of Uttarakhand state, it is imperative to acquaint oneself with comprehensive information regarding Uttarakhand state, which will be expounded upon in this article.

About Uttarakhand

On November 9th, 2000, the state of Uttarakhand came the 27th state to join the Indian Union, after being sculpted out of northern Uttar Pradesh. Nestled in the foothills of the Himalayan mountain range, Uttarakhand is a substantially hilly state, with borders to China( Tibet) in the north and Nepal in the east, Himachal Pradesh to the northwest and Uttar Pradesh to the south. The state is home to abundant natural coffers, including water and timbers, with multitudinous glaciers, gutters, thick timbers, and snow-covered mountain peaks. It’s also home to the four most sacred Hindu tabernacles, Badrinath, Kedarnath, Gangotri, and Yamunotri, which are positioned in the potent mountains of Uttarakhand, making it a truly God’s Land (Dev Bhoomi).

Dehradun, located in the Dun Valley, where the Ganga and Yamuna gutters meet, serves as the state’s capital and is known for its scenic beauty. With rare biodiversity, Uttarakhand boasts 175 species of sweet and medicinal shops. The state has a wide range of climatic zones, making it conducive to a variety of marketable openings in horticulture, floriculture, and husbandry. It also has enormous tourism eventuality, offering adventure, rest, and eco-tourism gests

List of Districts in Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand comprises 13 districts, which are grouped into two administrative divisions, namely Kumaon and Garhwal. Each district is led by a District Magistrate, responsible for maintaining law and order. The districts are sub-divided into lower-level Community Blocks, Paraganas, and Tehsils. Apart from the current 13 districts, there have been requests for creating additional districts. We have provided a list of the current districts in Uttarakhand.

Uttarakhand is a state in northern India, and it is divided into two divisions: Garhwal and Kumaon. Both divisions have their unique culture, geography, and history.

The Garhwal division comprises seven districts: Dehradun, Haridwar, Tehri Garhwal, Uttarkashi, Chamoli, Rudraprayag, and Pauri Garhwal. This region is known for its religious significance, as it houses several pilgrimage sites, including the Char Dham Yatra. Garhwal is also known for its scenic beauty, with the Himalayas dominating the landscape and the river Ganges flowing through it.

The Kumaon division comprises six districts: Almora, Bageshwar, Champawat, Nainital, Pithoragarh, and Udham Singh Nagar. This region is known for its natural beauty, with its hills, valleys, and lakes attracting tourists from across the country. Kumaon is also known for its cultural heritage, including the Nanda Devi and Kumaoni festivals. Both divisions have their unique cuisine, dance forms, and music. Garhwali and Kumaoni are the two primary languages spoken in the respective regions.

The state has been divided into two separate administrative divisions – Garhwal and Kumaon. This is for better control over the law and order situation in the state.

Nainital Pauri Garhwal
Uddham Singh NagarTehri Garhwal
Administrative Division of Uttarakhand

Details of All Districts

Uttarakhand is a state located in the northern region of India. It was carved out of the state of Uttar Pradesh in 2000 and is also known as the Land of Gods due to its association with several Hindu pilgrimage sites.

In terms of population, Uttarakhand has a population of approximately 11 million people, according to the 2011 census. The state has an area of around 53,483 square kilometres and is divided into 13 districts. It is further subdivided into 95 tehsils and 78 blocks.

The sex ratio in Uttarakhand is 963 females to 1000 males, which is higher than the national average of 940 females to 1000 males. The density of the population is 209 people per square kilometre, which is also higher than the national average of 382 people per square kilometre.

S. No.DistrictArea (Sq Km)Population (Census 2011)Sex RatioLiteracyDensity  Tehsils  Block  Villages
1.Haridwar2360 sq km18,90,42288073.43 %80146643
2.Dehradun3,088 sq km16,96,69490284.25 %54967767
3.Udham Singh Nagar2,908 sq km16,48,90292073.10 %64997553
4.Nainital4,251 sq km9,54,60593483.88 %225981,141
5.Pauri Garhwal5,230 sq km687,2711,10382.02 %12913153,483
6.Almora3,139 sq km6,22,5061,13980.47 %1981211428
7.Tehri Garhwal3,642 sq km6,18,9311,07776.36 %1701491,868
8.Pithoragarh7,090 sq km4,83,4391,02082.25 %68581,657
9. Chamoli8,030 sq km3,91,6051,01982.65 %491291,244
10. Uttarkashi8,016 sq km3,30,08695875.81 %4166694
11. Bageshwar2,246 sq km2,59,8981,09080.01 %11633947
12. Champawat1,766 sq km2,59,64898079.83 %14744705
13.Rudraprayag1,984 sq km2851,11481.30 %12243688
Details of Districts in Uttarakhand


In conclusion, Uttarakhand is a northern state of India that is rich in natural beauty, culture, and history. With an area of approximately 53,483 square kilometres and a population of over 11 million people, the state is divided into 13 districts, 95 blocks, and thousands of villages. The state’s economy is mainly driven by tourism, agriculture, and industries such as pharmaceuticals, textiles, and handicrafts. Uttarakhand is also known for its many pilgrimage sites, including the Char Dham Yatra, which attracts millions of visitors every year. With its stunning Himalayan landscapes, diverse wildlife, and rich cultural heritage, Uttarakhand is a unique and fascinating destination that offers something for everyone.

Ram Charan Singh

Ram Charan Singh is a passionate writer who is dedicated to exploring and sharing the rich culture and heritage of the hilly state of Uttarakhand, India. Born and raised in the foothills of the Himalayas, he has always been fascinated by the natural beauty and diverse culture of this region.

Leave a Reply